The Church at home

 

17546712_10155230478227835_8029601793672584377_o

I have been out of practice in having a quiet time.

I have 4 children, and there is very little time in the day where someone isn’t awake needing something. I hit the ground running in the morning, and I’m emotionally drained at the end of the day. When the 6 month old is finally asleep at the end of the night, I am reluctant to go to bed (even though I’m exhausted) because I’d like to spend some time to myself. This is not a complaint, just a reality.

IMG_4447

My mother recently told me about a devotional she’s been doing, and I decided to try it out. It doesn’t take a lot of time, and I’m in desperate need of that well that doesn’t run dry. Two days ago I tried it and I felt nothing. Yesterday I cried because I realized what I have been missing for a while. Today I had a revelation.

Today was different. I woke up this morning and thought, I’m not going to get a few minutes alone. So far that’s been true; I haven’t. BUT. I sat down anyway with the devotional on my phone app, and decided to read it out loud to the kids. They may not be able to understand all of it, but they don’t understand everything being taught from the pulpit on Sunday mornings at our family integrated church either. I knew I needed to spend the time with God and if it had to be with the kids so be it. I’m so glad I got through it.

This devotional is set up very much like a contemporary church service. It starts with a song, continues with the Word, gives some guided prayer, has a motivational conclusion, and takes maybe 15 minutes to complete. For a busy mom, short and sweet with something to leave me thinking on for the rest of the day is perfect.

On an ideal day, after I’ve served the kids their breakfast, and everyone has gotten dressed, we will do a morning basket. We start with prayer, reading a portion of Scripture, learn a hymn, and read some books on different topics.

IMG_4403

IMG_4387

However, as I shared this devotional with my family, it dawned on me that this is what I should be doing daily with them. Not the devotional itself, but church. Somehow I hadn’t equated morning time with church at home. I equated it with school. But as a Christian mom and homeschool mom, my home and my school are my daily church. I’m a director of sorts, and the children are the congregation.

As a teacher it is my responsibility to teach them subjects, as a mom I need to teach my kids how to tie their shoes, and how to have good manners, but most importantly as a Christian, my children are my disciples. They will learn from me, good or bad, who Jesus is, theology, and whether or not those things are important. I am the assistant pastor of our home. My home is a mini church where I train my children during the week to participate in a larger service on Sundays. My family is a mini community where I train my children to be part of a much larger community locally and worldwide, and that they should love each other because they are each others neighbor.

In viewing my home and family this way, I am also challenged in my thoughts an attitudes as a mother, teacher, and missionary to my family.

FYI, I’ve had the Caedmon’s Call station running on Pandora all morning as a result of my revelation.

Psalm 34:1 ESV I will bless the Lord at all times; his praise shall be continually in my mouth.

1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.

IMG_4365

 

 

One thought on “The Church at home

Leave a Reply

