my end of summer reading list

I’m not going to lie. A lot of this is going to seem pretty boring to most folks. I am on a non-fiction christian book kick. I will do my best to add a brief description of subject matter. I will also be adding books I have read and completed thus far over the summer.

Three Decades of Fertility: Ten Ordinary Women Surrender to the Creator and Embrace Life (Kindle) read

Ten women share their stories of childbearing and being mothers over the course of three decades, from their 20’s – 40’s. I gained a lot of wisdom from this book. These ladies reminded me of my mom and I felt as though I were being taught by true Titus 2 women.

Diapers, Dishes, and Dominion: How Christian Housewives can change the World by Leah D. Smith (Paperback) read

Leah covers a variety of topics from gender rolls, to child-rearing, to government, to eschatology. I found myself either nodding in agreement or being wowed by insights I had never considered before, yet made perfect sense. This was just the right book for just the right time in my life – a mom with young children, preparing them to enter their practical and spiritual educations. This book was a gift to me, and I wish I could gift it to every woman I know. A true treasure for those who are wondering what in the world they are doing as a mother.

Born-Again Dirt: Farming to the Glory of God by Noah Sanders (Paperback) currently reading

Great read so far. Another gift from a friend. The author makes a case for what the Bible has to say about farming. Put into practice, farming according to the Word will look different to different people in different regions, but the principles are the same – take dominion of the earth, and animals, take care of others, and have a godly business ethic.

Paradise Restored by David Chilton (Hardcover) currently reading

I have only gotten a couple of pages in so I haven’t formed a whole lot of opinions. I am reading this because I have lately become curious about the Postmillennial Eschatology. This book supposedly gives solid scriptural evidence for an eschatology of hope. So far the idea makes sense to me, that if Jesus finished His work of defeating sin and death on the Cross, that sin and death no longer have power over the Christian, and not just the Christian, the earth as well. “The earth is the Lords and the fullness thereof, the world and those who dwell therein.” Postmillennialism was the dominant eschatological view of the Church up until WWI. However, contrary to an eschatology of hope, there now reigns in Christianity an eschatology of fear. That is: Antichrist is coming, Satan is winning, this world is going to hell in a hand basket until Christ’s return, and there is nothing you can do about it.

Looking forward to this read a lot.

Family UNplanning by Craig Houghton (Kindle)

Point of interest for me. Sometimes it’s nice to just have a little encouragement when you feel like  the minority.

Fully Alive: A Biblical Vision of Gender that Frees Men and Women to Live Beyond Stereotypes by Larry Crabb (Kindle)

This is also a point of interest for me and as I’m going to blog on gender roles (at some point) thought this book came across my eyes fortuitously. I would probably not read or purchase this book normally, but Kindle was offering it for free yesterday so I figured why not. Don’t know if I will agree with it or not, but maybe there is something to be gleaned. 

Shepherding a Child’s Heart by Tedd Tripp (Kindle)

I asked my facebook community to offer some book recommendations on parenting and this book came recommended by a few women who’s parenting I respect, and also I was warned that his books did more harm that good to one father’s parenting. I think I’m a good judge of things I should and should not believe in, so I expect there will be things I will take away as helpful and other things I will disregard. That’s just how I roll.

Thats it for now. I have a few more on my Kindle that I want to read, but we’ll see how I do with these. I will update either in September or when I’m done – whichever comes first.

Leave a Reply

