first fruits

I thought I would share with you the first semi-substantial harvest from our garden. Actually it is pretty meager considering the amount of these things we have still waiting to ripen on the vines.

I’m excited to use all but the huckleberry. I tried one. It was icky. It tasted like a weird bitter-ish tomato which I wasn’t expecting, and if I’m going to eat something that tastes like a tomato…I’ll just eat the tomatoes. What are the point of huckleberries? Does anyone know?

My apologies for the lack of posting this week. I’ve been slightly under the weather, Joe had 6 teeth extracted (4 wisdom teeth), and I really haven’t been on top of the photography like I should. Better luck next week. Happy weekending!

3 thoughts on “first fruits

    • i’m sure you’re right. i have absolutely no idea what mulberries taste like. but you can make wine and potpourri out of them, right?

      • They are a bit less sweet than raspberries or blackberries, but are similar. They have a “fresh” taste, if that makes sense. The same way starfruit does to me. I don’t know anything about wine or potpourri, but I know people have made mulberry jam, and I personally just like them for out of hand snacking.

Leave a Reply

