we’re really doing it!

Here’s a confession. Previously to this week in my postings I have felt like a huge fake at this homesteading thing. I’ve really tried to write posts that are homestead related, but a lot of the time I felt like I was a lot of talk talk talk and no action.

Not only did I feel this way in the blogging world, but also felt it with my husband. He gets pretty down on himself and says the same kind of stuff I just admitted to, “I just feel like I’m faking it,” and so I know I need to be the voice of encouragement in is life. I do this, not to lie to him, but to give him hope to keep plugging away at his dream to one day be totally self-sustained. In the beginning of a huge venture such as this there does seem to come a lot of setbacks and discouragement, and since I love him, I try to do my best to cheer his spirits.

Between the loss of animals (did I also mention we lost all the chickens to either a raccoon or a fox?) and unexpected physical ailments, it has been easy to get down on ourselves. But now I am looking out at our garden that Joe has dug and planted entirely by himself both from seed and from plants given to us by friends. I open my refrigerator and see that I have one shelf almost entirely devoted to milk that has come from our own goats that I milked myself. I am filled with a sense of pride in our work. I am overwhelmed with thankfulness to God that He has helped us every step of the way despite our weakness, laziness, and ignorance. We are really doing this!

Photos are:
one – compost heap / / two – hops / / three – broccoli / / four – huckleberry / / five – potato / / six – wheat / / seven – peas / / eight – corn

Leave a Reply

