self-sustainability for everyone #7

I bet you all thought I was done with my self-sustainability posts.

False.

I still plan to do them sporadically.

natural home and body cleaners / /

This post goes out to Melissa of Inspired. She has been posting a lot about switching her family from store bought chemical and synthetic cleaning and body products to more green and natural homemade products. What a perfect name for her blog because I find myself constantly inspired by her posts. Go on over and leave her a comment if you like what you read.

I have a confession: I backslid on my baking soda/acv hair washing last weekend. My sister was having her bridal shower and I felt like my hair was so “icky.” I thought, I’ll just shampoo my hair this once and cross my fingers that it doesn’t mess up all of my progress (since I’m still going through my greasy transition period).

What a let down! My hair did look clean but it was completely flat and I still felt icky. So I went back to the baking soda/acv and my hair feels clean again.

Last summer Joe switched from toothpaste to a baking soda tooth scrub. We got the recipe from the book Making It: Radical Home Ec for a Post-Consumer World. I just recently made the switch myself. Let me tell you that this scrub is better than toothpaste. Every time I brush, I feel almost as if I’ve been to a cleaning at the dentist. That’s how smooth and clean my teeth feel. This book also has other natural tricks for cleaning and flossing teeth. Incredible.

Homemade Tooth Powder / /

found on p. 14

You’ll Need:

  • baby food jar (or lidded jar similar in size)
  • baking soda (approx. ¼ cup)
  • peppermint (or anise) essential oil

Fill jar with baking soda and add essential oils for flavor. Shake well.

The book recommend you let your nose be your guide for the amount of drops needed. But it also says 10 drops. Do as you like.

I love this book because it is close to being the bible of self-sustained tricks. It has everything from the baking soda/acv wash and the tooth powder, to home grown medicines, DIY olive oil lamps, beekeeping, slaughtering chickens, and making mead.

But there are all sorts of resources you can find without buying books. Check out your library or Pinterest. It’s amazing how much info there is out there, and this stuff is so simple and so cheap to do. Well…maybe not the chicken slaughtering 😉

5 thoughts on “self-sustainability for everyone #7

  1. Hey thanks for the shout out! My posts are mostly *inspired* by others, but it makes me smile that they inspire you! =]

    Here’s a tip from the hubs on tooth powder storage: Store it in an old spice container so you can just shake it right on your toothbrush! Not too bad, huh?

    Oh yeah and one more thing! lol. I’m on a super long waiting list at my library for that book! It’s cool that more people want to read it though!

    • good idea!

      yeah i guess it’s good they want to read it, but it’s frustrating when you’re the one who wants to read it.

      i’d let you borrow mine…

Leave a Reply

