it made me happy

the quest for sight / /

I need new glasses, It has been at least 2 years since I have had an exam. The glasses with the prescription from my last exam broke a year ago, and so my spares don’t have even that current of a prescription in them. My sight is better with my glasses than without, but I’m still squinting to see things. I need new glasses.

Joe got me new glasses for my birthday in January. But I haven’t got them yet, because we can’t afford them.

This week week found out how much we’re getting back in taxes and…

we’re getting me an eye exam and new glasses!

But it gets better!

Last night I went to a silent auction and wine tasting at the library.

I used to work here so I really enjoy supporting my library.

I scoped out the items up for bid.

I didn’t have to look long before I found this little gem:

The best part is that the Dr.’s office was the very one I was planning to see all along (I need to switch to a new Dr. who is closer to where I live)!

Bid placed.

Bid won!

Discount eye exam!!

Warby Parker glasses, here I come! Or maybe these from BonLook?

So this was my exciting news. Sorry if it’s not as exciting to you as it is to me, but I really need new glasses.

now entering the ‘no poo’ zone / /

I’ve decided to go ‘no poo.’

I always thought people who didn’t wash their hair were gross dirty hippies. It didn’t occur to me that just because someone didn’t use shampoo, doesn’t mean they don’t wash or bathe at all. Then I read this and thought…”eh, maybe it’s not so bad?”

I told my mom about it and  she began doing it last week. She said her hair feels so clean and soft and doesn’t get as greasy so fast. After one week.

I got out my ingredients

I use 1 tbsp. of baking soda and added it to a peri bottle left over from when I had Piper. I filled the rest with warm water and shook it up so it dissolved.

Next I got a mason jar and added a tbsp of apple cider vinegar & 2 drops of lavender essential oil (I may try peppermint next time for fun). I filled it with the shower water.

Step #1 : squirt on enough of the baking soda solution so that it gets on evenly over the scalp. No need to do all your hair. Massage your scalp and then rinse in shower water.

Step #2 : rinse all your hair in the vinegar solution and work it through all the ends of your hair. I needed the whole quart jar because my hair is rather long.

First attempt, BEFORE:

First attempt, AFTER:

Still pretty greasy. But they say there’s a period of this happening. I will stick it out and document my progress.

6 thoughts on “it made me happy

  1. wow, so happy for you about the glasses and eye exam! that is great news! can’t wait to hear about the “no poo” i have been wanting to try it

  2. Pretty awesome deal! =] I like the 2nd link for glasses!

    Oh, and I don’t think you look greasy. For the transition period I wore a lot of french braids. =]

  3. So excited about the glasses. Also, I tried washing my hair with baking soda but never tried the vinegar. I am going to give it a shot! Thanks for the tip! Also, I can’t resist commenting on that cute little girl in that picture with you! Love her little face! I miss you guys!

  4. I have been “eyeing” some glasses from bonlook too. They have such cute ones! I know how wonderful it is when you put on the new prescription for the first time and suddenly everything is in detail. Blades of grass! Leaves and branches! Things you thought you were seeing, but had no idea how little.

Leave a Reply

