from the kitchen

It’s been so unseasonably warm this month that I’ve really been wanting something cool, refreshing and sweet. Sometimes I wish I lived in the south, not just for their delicious barbeque, but for their amazing sweet tea. Then it occurred to me, why not make my own?!

I seemed to recall a friend of my brother’s from Virginia, sending him some Lipton tea bags and a recipe for sweet tea. Well, wouldn’t you know it? I have two huge boxes of Lipton Iced Tea tea bags just lying around!

I hopped online and pulled up this recipe for sweet tea. I halved it because I only have a half gallon pitcher.

Lipton Southern Style Sweet Tea 

(in half) / /

Ingredients

  • 1/2 gallon hot/boiling water
  • 3 Lipton Iced Tea tea bags
  • 2/3 c. sugar
  • lemon wedges for garnish

Directions

Take tea bags, and remove the paper on the strings, and tie all three together.  Set aside. In a half gallon pitcher, add very hot water. Stir in the sugar till dissolved. Add tea bags and dunk into water a few times, then leave them in the pitcher. Cover with lid of pitcher and refrigerate. Wait until it is very cold (at least 3-4 hours). The flavor changes until it reaches the ‘cold’ state. Drink and enjoy. Recommended taking tea bags out after about 8 hours (if it lasts that long).

I squeezed my lemon in when I poured my glass and OH YUM!

Enjoy this weather while it lasts! It is only March, so you know the cold is bound to come back around 😦

11 thoughts on “from the kitchen

  1. My mom used to do this with Lipton but instead of hot water, she would set the pitcher out in the sun for a few hours. Sun tea!

  2. Well since we’re talking sweet tea (and Virginians), here’s how I make mine:
    (Not that it’s rocket science)

    Boil a few cups of water
    Add 4 “family size” tea bags (Lipton or whatever) for 1 gallon of tea
    Remove from heat
    Let it steep for 5 minutes
    Remove tea bags
    Stir in 1.5-2 cups of sugar until dissolved
    Add water/ice to make a gallon
    (I always take the gallon pitcher and put lots of ice in the bottom and then pour/stir in the concentrate while filling it with cold water.)

    Note that I like my tea fairly strong with lots of ice; customize as you please.

    Also, we usually have mint tea growing around the house. Grow your own or just use “Mint Medley” tea bags for yummy mint iced tea! Another bonus is that it’ll probably take less sugar than black tea. Mmm. I want some now.

    I have never understood why sweet tea isn’t more popular outside of the South. Who wouldn’t want it?!

    Love your blog!

  3. Yummy sweet tea! We make ours the same way basically. We all prefer homemade lemonade. Them you can make an Arnold Palmer which is half iced tea half lemonade. Love your blog 🙂 Hello from the Gentry family 🙂

  4. I’ve never been an ice tea fan, likely because I wasn’t brought up with it, but my husband loves it in the summer time. Thanks for the recipe — 🙂

  5. My husband is the same way. I asked if he wanted to try it when he got home from work last night, and he took a sip to be polite, but I ended up drinking his along with mine. That’s okay because that means more for me!

Leave a Reply

