from the kitchen

A friend asked me to give her this recipe because she does a lot of vegetarian stuff. It’s super simple, and one of the staple recipes in my kitchen. My meat-loving husband loves it, and I can also feed it to my baby. Win-win!

Carrot Soup / /

Ingredients:

  • half a stick of butter
  • 10-12 lg. carrots – peeled and sliced
  • 1 onion – diced
  • vegetable or chicken stock

Directions:

In a large saucepan, saute onion and butter together until onion is translucent. Add carrots, and fill with stock until carrots are just covered. Bring to a boil, then lower to just above a simmer. Once carrots are done (not firm but not mushy), ladle carrots into a blender and then pour in broth until carrots are just covered (you may use all of your broth, or you may have just a bit leftover) and puree. Soup is now ready to serve!

This soup tastes great all on it’s own without seasoning, but sometimes I like to mix it up by adding:

  • a dollop of pesto
  • poultry seasoning
  • plain ol’ salt n’ pepper
  • bacon bits (real bacon)
This is super filling as is. The first time we had the soup, Joe wrinkled his nose, and wanted me to add something more chewable to it. I added potatoes and he said it was way too much! He hasn’t complained about it ever again, and often requests it.

If you try it out, let me know what you think! If you spice it up with something I haven’t listed tell me about it, and how you liked it.

2 thoughts on “from the kitchen

Leave a Reply

