from the kitchen

There are a lot of different waffle recipes out there. Some are temperamental, and some have strange exotic ingredients in them. I, however, find that the simplest is the best (at least for me).

That being said, sometimes I like to get creative. Most recently, I noticed that I had a lot of buttermilk and whole wheat flour I had sitting around that were crying out to me to be used up, and this is what happened:

Basic Waffle Recipe: Tweaked / /

Mix in a large bowl:

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 c. milk 1¼ c. buttermilk
  • 3  Tbsp. vegetable oil cold pressed extra virgin olive oil

Stir in and mix until blended:

  • 1½ c. flour  ¾ c. all purpose flour & ¾ c. whole wheat flour
  • 1 2 Tbsp. baking powder
  • 2 tsp. sugar
  • ½ tsp. salt

Heat waffle iron, and brush it with butter or oil if necessary . Put in enough batter to just fill. Close and bake until steam stops and the waffles are crisp, tender, and brown.

They were light and delicious! A recipe tweak well played 🙂

3 thoughts on “from the kitchen

      • Ah. I have never dared fiddle with baking powder or soda amounts. I like switching up the obvious stuff, like mixed in things, or the way you did wheat flour, but the more basic ingredients I am so scared to change. I am always afraid to ruin something.

        Mmmm…waffles.

Leave a Reply

