from the kitchen

There are certain things I have had aversions to growing up. Let me list them for you.

  • sewing with a machine
  • knitting
  • baking bread
  • animal farming
  • soap making
  • skiing

These aversions carried into my adult life, and I am trying to overcome my fear of them. Most are things that my mother is proficient at doing (other than the animal farming and skiing). I am slowly working my way through overcoming these obstacles.

  • sewing with a machine success!
  • knitting success!
  • baking bread (…)
  • animal farming success!
  • soap making
  • skiing (never gonna happen)

Last night I baked my very first loaf of bread! SUCCESS!

I used the Yeasted Buttermilk Bread recipe from Nourishing Traditions. I highly recommend this book for nutrition, and not popular opinion.

People had been eating healthily on meat, eggs, and different forms of dairy for centuries without the FDA and USDA telling them what was good or bad for them. They just ate real food; what can be found in nature, not manufactured and/or synthesized. : : rant over : :

Also, I thought I would share my grandmother’s recipe for French Meat Pie.

Nana B.’s French Meat Pie / /

French Meat Pie is traditionally eaten at Christmas and New Years. I know we’re nearing on Valetines Day, but maybe you will grow a garden this spring and will want some ideas of what in the world you will make with your stored potatoes and onions come winter.

I’ll do the healthiest version to hopefully inspire you.

Ingredients:

  • 1½ lbs ground pork (pastured organic is best)
  • 1 med. potato sliced into rounds (from your garden)
  • 1 sm. onion diced (from your garden)
  • a generous ½ tsp poultry seasoning (try growing and drying herbs from your garden)
  • ½ tsp celery salt
  • 1-1½ c. herb seasoned stuffing (or try drying bread crumbs and adding your poultry seasoning to it)
  • top and bottom pie crust (your favorite recipe)

Directions:

Put uncooked ground pork in a a large sauce pan. Add enough water so that it is even with the top of the pork. Add potato, onion, and seasoning. Cook on med. heat. Mash potato in as it cooks 1-1½ hrs or until potato is fully cooked. Add enough stuffing to absorb remaining moisture. Pour into pie crust.

Bake pie on 350° until crust is golden brown. (I eat mine with ketchup!)

I hope you like it as much as we do!

5 thoughts on “from the kitchen

  1. Bread is an obstacle for me too. I have many wonderful recipes saved, but I am scared of the the time and the yeast. Someday soon I plan to tackle it and make it often.

    We usually get a fresh meat pie, about once a month or so, from a bakery right around the corner. Perhaps I shall have to try from scratch sometime.Your Nana’s recipe looks like the one my husband’s Memere used to make.

    • the meat pie was SO much easier than I thought it would be. it pretty much makes itself, and there are so few ingredients. the pie crust is the hardest part if that tells you anything!

      • I made a pie crust from scratch once. the hardest part for me was that my food processor would not fit all the dough at once, and some of it got too stiff so incorporating both halves back together was hard.

  2. Pingback: happy valentines day! | hipster homesteading

Leave a Reply

