from the shelves of my library

Currently reading:

The Housewife’s Handbook: How to Run the Modern Home by Rachel Simhon

This isn’t so  much something you’ll want to read from cover to cover, but rather to use as a reference guide.

*How to eradicate mold from your bathroom
*How to clean that oven you’ve let collect grease drippings for the past 10 years or more
*How often to clean your windows or curtains
*How to dust properly (an important one for me)
*Green household cleaner recipes
Etc.

As I get ready to move into my first home-of-my-own with a husband with allergies (to I haven’t yet figured out what) and a newborn baby, these are important things for me to stay on top of. It applies very well to my situation as well, as I intend on becoming a full time housewife and stay-at-home-mom starting July 1st.

Recently watched:

True Grit by The Cohen Brothers

Okay, this one isn’t from my personal library, but was rented from Redbox.

This is a Cohen Brothers (The Man Who Wasn’t There, Fargo, No Country for Old Men, Burn Notice) remake of the movie True Grit, originally out in 1969, starring John Wayne. Never saw that version, so I have no comment as to how they stack up against one another.

I wasn’t a personal fan, but that’s not to say that it wasn’t a good movie. It was pretty decent and well acted. I’m just not one for enjoying westerns. I did enjoy that for the most part (other than when Jeff Bridges character, Rooster, slurred his speech when drunk) there was no use of contractions. One would think that would be irritating, but actually I thought it made everything sound more old fashioned and authentic to the time period.

Listening to:

The Valley by Eisley

The same hauntingly beautiful vocals as ever, and lyrics so heartbreakingly sad. As much as I want to play this over and over, it is so depressing to me right now.

Leave a Reply

