sorry for the absence…

I’ve been away for quite a bit, but I’m hoping to get back to posting more regularly.

I actually don’t know who reads this, if anyone, but it’s nice for my own delusions to think that people do. I hope to make this blog as interesting to as possible to the hipster/homesteader/stay-at-home-mom demographics, and anyone else out in cyberspace who happens to care.

As of right now I am back to living on my parents property. Joe and I are living in a pop-up camper in their back yard which is closer to the things which we want to be doing – planting, living closer to our animals, being in our own space.

Construction on our apartment is under way, though it is going slowly and I am unsure whether or not this baby will be born in a home or in a camper. God is pressing us pretty tightly these days, but maybe that’s just what happens when you have convictions and then try to live them out. Oi vey.

On the plus side, we are excited! We have our goats to feed and hopefully stud this summer and milk this fall/winter, we have our rabbits (not pictured) to give us manure for our garden, pigs for slaughter in the fall and meat for the coming year, and chickens because fresh eggs are superior.

We have the following plants growing right now:
garlic – pictured above
watermelon – pictured above
strawberries
cucumber
potatoes
sweet potatoes
barley – for homebrewing
and more on the way!

In preparation for the baby, I have bought just about all of my home birthing supplies. I just need the plastic sheeting for covering everything up. I’m at 37 weeks, and the baby will be arriving any time between now and the next 5 weeks! Eek! Still, preparing for his/her arrival is so much fun.

Really hoping our apartment will be done and we’ll be moved in before this little one decides to grace us with it’s little presence.

2 thoughts on “sorry for the absence…

  1. Hi. I usually check in and see if there are any updates on here after reading about the Marster’s. God bless you both and your life together! So wonderful all that you are doing with gardening, raising animals and a baby on the way!

Leave a Reply

