baby update

I had my second appointment with my midwife yesterday. She is so sweet and wonderful in putting all my fears to rest.

I have had a completely irrational fear that the child within me is dead. There is no reason I should be thinking that, as everything my body is doing is completely normal with a healthy pregnancy. It’s just been that I haven’t actually felt the baby move, and so though my belly growing, I just feel like a fatty.

That all changed yesterday. In the evening after my appointment, I started to feel the baby moving around inside me. I even woke up this morning with my hand on my belly, and it kicked me (quite forcefully) twice! I told Joe, and he put his hand on me to feel for himself and it kicked him as well.

It’s such a wondrous thing to think that a human being currently resides in my body. And happily, I am now assured by little kicks and movements that it is indeed alive.

2 thoughts on “baby update

Leave a Reply

